A A deutsch energiesparmodus
logo schaumbad



HomeEventsGalleryArtistsThe Bubble bath :)ContactDownloadsLinks

Art Brunch im Bad #24: Collaborations - Styrian Artists in Residence meet Ensemble Schallfeld

Ansgar Beste / Daniela Fantechi / Jorge Diego Vázquez Salvagno / St.A.i.R.


Sunday, 23.4. at 11:00 a.m.

The composers Ansgar Beste (SWE/DE), Daniela Fantechi (ITA) and Jorge Diego Vázquez Salvagno (ARG) in conversation with members of Ensemble Schallfeld.
Moderation: Margarethe Maierhofer-Lischka

Solo- and chamber music works written by the three young composers will be performed by Gobi Drab (Blfl), Lorenzo Derinni (Vl), Davide Gagliardi (El), Margarethe Maierhofer-Lischka (Kb).

Ansgar Beste - Dialogues sauvages (2012-14) for Paetzold-recorder (in cooperation with Forum Stadtpark Graz)
Daniela Fantechi - new work for violin and electronics (2017)
Jorge Diego Vázquez Salvagno - Latajkiaswole (2014-17) for double bass solo

Daniela Fantechi: Prossimo is a piece for violin and electronics, written for Lorenzo Derinni and Davide Gagliardi.
This piece investigates some possibilities of the use of piezo microphones. Due to their natural low-fidelity quality, this particular amplification makes sounds closer, and it gives back a peculiar perception of the sound in the space. Moreover, in this piece, one contact-microphone is also used to produce sounds: playing the violin with the piezo highlights some concrete aspects of instrumental sound. This use of the piezo microphone, as a sort of stethoscope on the instrument, emphasizes the smallest sounds, which become even more concrete and detailed: contact microphone comes to be the instrument to make audible the proximity of the sound and to create a different relationship with the material and its perception in the listening process.

Jorge Diego Vázquez Salvagno - Tara / Q’iwa for Cello and Tarkas (work in progress)
Latajkiaswole is a solo contrabass piece that Vázquez started in collaboration with Margarethe Maierhofer-Lischka. This piece explores the contrabass throughout the technical perspective and sonority of two native instruments from North Argentina:  The Latajkiaswole, a musical bow that consist of a string stretched between the two ends of a curved stick; the string may be rubbed with another bow to create musical sound, the player create the resonating body by using his oral cavity. He repeatedly makes changes to his lips, gums and oral cavity, causing different sounds and overtones. Another instrument is the n'vike, a bowed monochord with a resonating body made of a sheet of tin with an opening in the top instrument. The term n'vike has no equivalent in English, but refers to the act of a jaguar sharpening his claws on a tree.
On the contrabass, the sonority and handling of these instruments will be explored by the use of two bows playing at the same time, as well as the use of different harmonic tunings.
This year, thanks to the collaboration of Peter Venus, the renewed perspective of experimentation is to amplify the Contrabass on different parts in order to hear “how the body of the instrument speaks” and, by the use of specialization creates numerous trajectories of the sound materials played in the contrabass.

Daniela Fantechi (1984) was born in Florence, Italy.
She studied Composition at Conservatory Luigi Cherubini of Florence, with Rosario Mirigliano and Paolo Furlani, and, at Kunstuniversität, in Graz, with Beat Furrer, Clemens Gadenstätter and Georg Friedrich Haas.
She has attended several master classes and summer courses, such as Impuls and Acanthes, headed by Helmut Lachenmann, Beat Furrer, Dieter Amman, Tristan Murail, Daniele Bravi, Toshio Hosokawa, Mark Andre, Stefano Gervasoni, Mauro Lanza.
She also graduated with first-class honours in Master of Musicology at University of Florence in 2009, and she specialized in Pedagogy and music, for music teaching at preschool and elementary school, with the course Musica Bambina, in Pisa. After that she has been working on several projects with children in Teatro Verdi in Pisa and in many theatre and schools in Florence and in Pisa.
In 2010, together with the trumpet player Marco Baldini and the clarinet player Edoardo Ricci, she founded Blutwurst, a collective of musicians, focused on radical improvisation and on the performance of contemporary composers’ graphic scores. Since 2013 the ensemble began to work on its own compositions with the projects Yoğurt and Tenebrae, entirely dedicated to the electro-acoustic exploration of unisons and drones.
Her compositions have been performed in Italy at Tempo Reale Festival (Florence), Play it (Florence), Mixxer (Ferrara), Atlante Sonoro (Roma) and in Austria at Für die Hügel (Graz).

Peter Venus is a sound and video artist living in Graz, Austria. His works cover sound and video-installations as well as perfomance of contemporary electroacoustic compositions and sound- and video-design for movies and theatre. He is also working as a operator for video in the field of music theatre. In his works, either as artist,operator or sound-director, he tries to create immersive and multisensory settings to realise auditory and visual environments on the edge of illusion. He works for the Salzburg Festival, University of Arts Graz and participates in numerous collaborations.

participating artists:

Art Brunch im Bad #24: Collaborations - Styrian Artists in Residence meet Ensemble Schallfeld
Ansgar Beste, Foto: Beate HeideckeGobi Drab, Foto: Thomas KlausnerDaniela FantechiMargarethe Maierhofer-Lischka, Foto: Eva UrsprungJorge Diego Vasquez Salvagno, Foto: Stefan Lozar
Émilie Girard-CharestMargarethe Maierhofer-Lischka, Foto: Celeste